That Will Never Do

Image

Easter Sunday and all was quiet in this working-class suburb of Joburg.

I hung the washing up at mid-morning, noticing how silent the neighbours were, for a change.

Not that they’re always a riot of noise. It’s just that we’re surrounded by progeny.

The two South-side neighbours have 3 girls and a boy-and-girl duet, all of whom scream in play as if, frankly, they were being tortured.

On the West side there is a high-school-age boy and on the East there are..well…lots of young children.

If I may go all Old Fart for a moment, I’m sure I never remember my generation, err, generating quite the same level of ear-piercing decibels when we played outside. Perhaps it is just that we were more used to playing outside, I don’t know.

It came to me that the preternatural silence, for a Sunday morning, was probably due to the families being at church. Along with half the political leaders of the country I might add. Odd how politicians exude piety in the month before a general election.

And this is one reason I will not be casting a vote next month. It’s not that I have anything particularly about people being religious – in my own way, and to the horror of most conventionally religious folk, I consider myself religious – or that I mind them going to church once in a while to top up their faith batteries – it gives me and mine a good solid morning of blessed silence and birdsong.

It’s more the sudden scramble to appear godly which sets my teeth on edge, and exposes those who harbour political ambition as the thinly-masked demons of a Wetiko infection that they are.

And while we’re on the topic: when did winning a political post become “coming into power” rather than “coming into service”? You see right there is my major reason for shunning all candidates as the plague-ridden hobgoblins they truly are: they no longer serve the people, but rather the structures of hierarchical power.

And that, seriously, will never do.

 

Pic: Politicians in Church? I mean, Fuck This Shit

4 responses to “That Will Never Do

  1. Wow. I truly haven’t thought about it that way. It’s all about power these days, even with the ones that spout platitudes about service. In our country, we always saw Bill Clinton going to church. He picked up the faith at the door and left it in the vestibule when he exited.

    Like

  2. I *think* we’re more secular in Africa, Anne – on paper, anyway. But our naivety is extremely high – plus, in South Africa particularly – we don’t have a long history of democratic process, and many of us haven’t learnt to see through politicians yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

