A Stick in a River

Image

Six American scientists (and they are scientists) have recently published the results of a meta-analysis of 26 experiments conducted since 1978 in 7 independent laboratories on the subject of human anticipation of future events.

Although the quantum of “future” within which humans can anticipate the future remains quite small – less than 10 seconds in most of the studies – the results do appear to be clear. We can do it.

Although this probably comes as no surprise to a wide swathe of humanity who have had unexplained episodes of precognition, nevertheless the study is an important milestone in our attempt to understand time, its nature and the ways in which living organisms interact with it.

It is very interesting to me, as I have had my own precognitive experiences – all two of them in the last 14 years – which I cannot explain using the standard materialistic paradigm at all.

The first, and most shattering to me, was the evening I saw my father on the same day he died. I had no knowledge of his actual death until the next day, and I was not even aware that he might have been ailing, as I hadn’t seen or spoken to him for the better part of 2 years, at that point. This might not be properly called a precognitive event at all, I realise, but it does involve some weird manipulation of our understanding of the space-time continuum and locality.

The second experience was much more clearly a precognitive (or, I’ve suddenly had an idea, another disruption of locality). I dreamed of a fire and a Lamborghini  – two things which I do not commonly dream about at all – and I woke up the next day to the news that a local security company had crashed into a speeding Lambo and all burned to death on the side of the road.

The tentative steps which some scientists are taking in an attempt to uncover an understanding of time-space anomalies and the human being give me some hope in this era obsessed with a materialist world view that all is not, in terms of the human soul, lost after all.

Leave a Reply

