None Of Them Have Human Form

Image

 

And maybe it’s the time of year, yes, said maybe it’s the time of man.
And I don’t know who I am but life is for learning.

 

It’s that time of year when I feel most North-South conflicted.

In the Northern Hemisphere, Samhain is kicking off the start of Winter. The Ancestors are being met, called, revered, hated, worshiped and generally more noticed than usual.

Here in the Southern Hemisphere we are approaching Beltane, the start of Summer, with all the Maypole-dancing imagery that conjures up.

But the pressure of the numbers of the civilised in the Northern Hemisphere has considerable effect upon those fewer of us even pretending to be civilised down here, so Halloween gets celebrated by the non-seasonally-sensitive in the South, and everyone thinks they’re having a good time.

Me, I’m torn between wanting to sit in the garden and inhale flowers all day long, and wanting to sit at the altar and talk to my forebears all night long. It’s an inheritance-environment battle I’ve never successfully sorted out, yet.

So I watch what’s happening with Mercury, in retrograde now, and experience shocking synchronicities akin to being smacked upside the head with a plank.

Mercury retrograde, vexing as it can be, has some really redeeming aspects. One of these is its ability to allow you to re-do things which should have been done properly the first time, but weren’t. It is concerning one such life task left unfinished that I – and Warren – received a much-needed kick in the pants, so that we could go and put right the dangling ends.

And so, hoping not to foully mix any more metaphors, I have been taking great care with my forward/backward/sideways steps these last few days. For Mercury has been travelling backwards across my Sun and Ascendant of Scorpio, which is also presently hosting a very stern Saturn – not, thankfully, retrograde at this time/ Life’s lessons coming thick and fast.

And in the last sighing breath of a dying dog, lying in the road after being knocked flying by a huge four by four, whose Going Home we were privileged to be present at ( since we were driving behind the vehicle which knocked the life and blood and most of the guts out of this boy) – in that last breath I find a comfort which cannot be granted by this culture or the mostly mad people living in it. A comfort, too, in being able to walk this dead dog to the start of the trail which leads Home, and see him trot off, sprout eagle’s wings, and fly over the forest and the cliffs in the ante-landscape to Hades.

However confused I may be about the time of the year (or maybe it’s the time of man), then, I know there are living beings all around me who are not even a little bit confused.

And none of them, oddly, appear to have human form.

4 responses to “None Of Them Have Human Form

  1. Though, as a Christian, I take a different approach to many of these things, I share some of your discomfort with deasonal inversions.

    There is a Christian Easter hymn that I rather like (you can see the whole thing here) which has the following verse:

    ‘Tis the spring of souls today;
    Christ hath burst his prison,
    and from three days’ sleep in death
    as a sun hath risen;
    all the winter of our sins,
    long and dark, is flying
    from his light, to whom we give
    laud and praise undying.

    I thought it smacked too much of northern hemisphere imperialidsm and changed it to

    ‘Tis the dawn of joy today;
    Christ hath burst his prison,
    and from three days’ sleep in death
    as a sun hath risen;
    all the night of death and sin,
    long and dark, is flying
    from his light, to whom we give
    laud and praise undying.

    Like

  2. We stumbled over here coming from a different internet page and thought I may check things out. I like what I see so now im following you. Look forward to exploring your web page yet once more.

    Like

  3. I really like your writing style, good information, thank you for posting :D. “Nothing sets a person so much out of the devil’s reach as humility.” by Johathan Edwards.

    Like

Leave a Reply

