..Under Any Freaking Circumstances

Image

Call me old-fashioned, but I remember a time, growing up, when people who intentionally set out to harm other people were looked at as criminals, insane, and not to be welcomed into society.

I’m not saying a lot of harm didn’t go on, but it wasn’t considered something the perpetrator had done a lot of thinking about -s/he was clearly an anti-social outcast.

And if we were to get wind of some awful domestic abuse, some woman-beating or child molesting, it would be a great horror, and certainly wouldn’t be thought of as something the perpetrator had chosen to do, as simply as s/he chose which pair of shoes to wear that day. There would obviously be something terribly wrong with hir.

So, when I read this tweet:

 I take it upon myself to play my role as a son, father, uncle & man. I choose not to rape or abuse any woman for as long as I live.

 Sir KS Mametja (@De_Imperial) October 15, 2013 

 

I was pretty aghast.

We  harm other living beings all day, every day – for food, or heedlessly crushing underfoot, or in a motor vehicle accident. But none of these things is the kind of choice we make consciously.

Come on, humanity. If we were half the species we claim to be, raping and abusing “any woman” would be way out of the question as a choice.

So why does this – presumably ordinary – dude feel it incumbent upon him to take this holy oath, and encourage others to do the same, before his monolithic deity, that he will choose not to do these things?

We have failed, and failed dismally, if not raping and not abusing women is considered a choice we can make.

We have failed to bring up our children in Love and sanity.

We have failed to live upon this Earth as we should. Look at all the other animals and plants.

It should never, ever, under any freaking circumstances, even enter our pointy little minds to do these things.

Human Beings, I give up with you.

10 responses to “..Under Any Freaking Circumstances

  1. I appreciate and enjoy having free will (or at least thinking that I do). It’s a pretty fundamental thing about consciousness, when you want something really badly that you’re not allowed within 10 feet of, to consider just taking it. Choosing not to, even if the answer is so obvious that the choice is subconscious, is a choice.

    Tell you what, though. A chip in the head would sure solve that problem. Vote Kittens, Rainbows & Safety 2014.

    Like

  2. Ah, but that’s just the point.
    We’re enculturated to think that we can “own”, have power over, other beings…atoms, plants, animals. And that gives us a sense of entitlement to go and take. Not live with, freely, in free will states, but owning and possessing and controlling.
    I think the desire to control another soul is the anithesis of free will.
    And it’s not all love and light – love itself is neither light nor dark, but expresses itself as both, and neither.
    It’s the very foundational premises of this culture – this Wetiko culture – which are ant-free-agent, but rather predicated upon ownership and control. The ‘c’ word.
    Love,
    T in J

    Like

  3. It may be exacerbated by culture, mostly in extreme cases such as India, but the impulse itself comes from the deepest animal unconscious and it’s as old as sex itself. It’s not even based on sex, it’s simply the impulse to take something you’re not allowed to have but want anyway.

    Taking an example such as South Africa, I would bet good money that the “people” who do rape do so exactly because they don’t give much of a shit about society’s opinion, AKA culture. I would double down on that bet and say they don’t possess of the mental ability to make the choice not to. In fact, in the cases reported in the news, their community (AKA local culture) usually tries to get to the perpetrators before the police do so that they could tear them to pieces. Our culture may be based on greed, but it’s nowhere near one where a man would think it condones rape. A good example is the recent rape media blitz (that no one questions the motive of). If it weren’t a taboo, people wouldn’t mindlessly react to this extended media terror campaign by falling over themselves to say politically correct things.

    But we can skip all that and just say that, as a general rule, when you get to making a list of thought crimes, hit yourself in the head with something heavy and start over.

    Like

  4. I used to believe that, Pstonie – that there were hard wired urges in humankind. Robert Heinlein certainly believed that (although he stopped at sex being the driving force for all human endeavour), and I was brought up on a diet of Heinlein. That’s part of my point. I was brought up, enculturated, in a worldwide society which takes the existence of mankind’s urges as being a given.

    I believe differently now. I don’t believe that humans in their natural state – which is that of an (ensouled, as are all things) animal with a strange spike in consciousness – are hard wired for wanting what they can’t have (or for automatically forbidding stuff to other “lesser” humans, as is done in a hierarchy) or that they will go out and take it if they shuffle off social conscience.

    It’s that very social conscience which convinces us at some level that we should have this thing or that, even if it harms another unnecessarily. The Patriarchy/Machine/Wetiko Culture is almost invisible to all of us, as we have been raised in it, stewed in it, so that Wetiko urges seem like natural biology.

    This culture, which began thousands of years ago on this planet, is not the first and is not the only way for us to be.
    I do believe we are clinically insane.
    Some very “intelligent” people can be seen behaving in ways which, in a more sane way of being, would get them branded sociopathic. Heck, that probably includes most of us. Me, too. Our drive to collect heaps of paper – in itself insane – drives media flow and advertising in big ways.

    I don’t ever have it in mind to be thought police, however – I am an anarchist at a very basic, life-centred level, and I really, really believe that we can do a lot better than this Wetiko culture we’ve been normalising for the past 10 thousand years.

    But I do think that you and I view humankind from very different standpoints – although not so differently as the builders of Gobekli Tepe or Catal Huyuk may view us – so we might well be talking past each other quite a lot here.

    And it’s always good to take one’s notions out for a little jog around the block, occasionally. 🙂
    Thank you for the exercise.

    Love,
    T in J

    Like

  5. Humans didn’t always have abilities of higher consciousness, we evolved from animals. Rape is an observable phenomenon in the animal kingdom. Dolphins, notably.

    It’s exactly our ability to choose and subsequent abstractions of culture that prevents it from happening in cases when it would have in the animal kingdom. Sometimes that’s not enough and it still happens.

    Humans (men, at least) had an innate urge for sex and the ability to take it forcefully long before we had culture, just trust me on that. The urge to eat is one that would be easier to prove. Humanity wouldn’t still exist if we didn’t retain some of our basic animal impulses.

    I’ve never heard of the theory that humans have no inborn urges. I can’t imagine someone postulating something so absurd. Is it part of feminist literature?

    Like

  6. Not a part of feminist lit. afaik, but I’m not saying we have no inborn urges, just not those anti-Life ones.
    Evo-psych indeed postulates that rape evolved in mankind: I just don’t believe it. Or much else that evo-psych says. Sorry, that *is*a feminist stance. And a DeepGreen one.
    Love,
    T in J

    Like

  7. I just want to end off here by clarifying that my position is not doctrinaire. I don’t follow anything – feminism, DGR – by their rule book.
    I can see, after looking closely, that the last 10 000 years of human culture have brought us – and all life on the planet – to the very brink.
    I can also see, by now, the incredible amount of damage the Patriarchy does to the human psyche.
    I have been out looking for answers and have found a few, and take them on board according to how closely they agree with my experiences both in this world and in the range of many other worlds we are one amongst.
    So this is not cant, when I say that it’s a feminist/DGR stance. It’s based on close correlation between these ideas and my own adventures in being conscious, and God, at this time and in this place.
    And they can always, of course, change. What we’re good at.
    Love,
    T in J

    Like

  8. Considering its motives, I’m not surprised that feminism would have us believe that men invented rape. It’s like christianity in that way, trying to convince us that humanity is somehow removed from the natural world.

    I’ll assume that by anti-life urges, you mean rape. One of the ideas I’ve been trying to get across is that there is no urge to rape, just an urge for sex and the possible application of force to achieve one’s goals.

    Like

  9. I don’t know that feminism wants us to believe that men invented rape. Maybe some do – I certainly don’t.
    I think *We* justify all that we do, some way or another -including rape. And no, I don’t include forced sex under anti-life urges, particularly. I mean over consumption, over desire, over neediness which is resulting in us eating, literally, the only planet we have, as yet.

    My understanding of rape – and it may be open to question as I’ve never felt the need to perpetrate it – is that it’s an urge to control, to dominate, to hurt.The same urge we seem to have developed with respect to all of Life.

    And one’s goals, from where I sit, should not include the domination and control of the planet or its life. That’s what I mean by anti-Life. Not thought police, as I would cut off my right arm before I’d declare a universal way to think when we’re all at different stages of the spiral. I just sometimes despair of humans, they seem so..stuck. But then I remember:
    We’re all in this dimension together, creating and making and shaping and causing death and un-making, all the gods and all of us. For as long as it takes, apparently. 🙂
    I think we do view things very differently, but that’s all good, too.
    Love,
    T in J

    Like

Leave a Reply

