A True Love

Image

You know, when I was a lot younger, Astrology used to drive me bonkers.

That was when I was serious as could be about becoming an Astronomer, to which end I studied Physics and Astronomy at University. I took myself, and the hard sciences, very earnestly.

What used to annoy me the most, I think, was that automatic assumption made that because I was a) female and b) a student in the late ’70s and early ’80s , what I really said when asked what I was studying was Astrology.

It didn’t matter that I would take the time to correct my inquisitor and to carefully delineate the difference between the two “astro” fields – whenever I said “Astronomy”  they heard “Astrology”, clear as day.

So my antipathy was somewhat personal, or ego-driven if you like. I didn’t want to know about this pseudo science which purported to tell the future. I was going to be an Astronomer, damn it. Once, at a party at which I knew no-one, an older woman engaged me in conversation briefly – I was about 18 at the time – and after a short while announced that I was almost certainly a Scorpio. End of new friendship.

With what I know now, I can surmise that the fact that not only my Sun but my Ascendant is Scorpio makes my Scorpionhood pretty apparent. But back then, I was pissed off. Although I have never forgotten it.

Time passes, things happen, as they do, and I find myself giving a lot more consideration to “that other science”. I am more aware, now, of entities called archetypes, and their poor cousins, stereotypes.

From the Greek, “stereo” meaning “solid”, gives us a clue that the word “stereotype” is often over-used. Astrological signs can be used as solid-typing for a broad range of people and events. Scorpio, for example, doesn’t just stand for sex and death – although as a basic eighth house sign it can be used that way – but has the deeper meaning of purification in the round of the zodiac.

I’m still not one to check my horoscope daily – that’s where the common entertainment label comes in – but I do give a lot more weight to what is happening in the sky with respect to the motion of the planets through the sky.

Astrology can be a deeply spiritual science – and yes, I went and called it a science – and, rather than predicting the future, I’ve found it casts new light on the past and the present.

And I’m constantly learning. Rather than throwing a hissy-fit whenever Mercury turns retrograde, I have learnt, at the hand of old souls like Robert Wilkinson, that these times frequently are good opportunities for retrospective. And that a void moon doesn’t necessarily mean “do absolutely nothing”, but rather “kick back and enjoy the Cosmos as it is”.

I’m not without my little backward quirks, however. I still harbour a deep antipathy to all things Gemini – even though I really like Gemini Sun people, on the whole, and try not to treat them as universal lepers – and I’m a little less fearless when major planets are transiting this sector of the sky. Gemini is my eighth house, you see. I breathe a little easier each year when the end of June rolls around.

But all things work together for good to those who Love. My fluency in Astronomy really helps me with my Astrological visions. I fins it relatively easy to tell where the Moon and Sun are in relation to each other and to the Earth, and the great dome of the sky -whether at night or in the day – remains a true love which I have held since I first landed here.

2 responses to “A True Love

  1. I suffer the same twinges over astrology (and I’m also a Scorpio), but then I suffer twinges over tarot and other things that give the oh-so-rational sorts fits. But I realize it is not for the reason they have fits; they like their lines to color in all sharp and stark and certain and what is OUTside is NOTHING.

    Unfortunately, life has taught me that a lot of mostly unseen, barely surmised things lay outside the lines of rationality and reason and what science can tack to a slide. So, mostly now, what I have twinges over is my own inability to explain adequately why those jello-nailed-to-tree things in life still matter.

    Like

  2. That’s part of what we should learn before we die – why those things matter and how they help to tell us, partly and perhaps minisculely – Who we are.
    As for the hard rationalists – of whose team I was a member, once – I think they’re more driven by fear than anything else. Or is that a given?
    Love,
    Terri in Imbolc Joburg

    Like

Leave a Reply

